Friday, May 20, 2022
HomeSportsL'Equipe Announce Four Changes to Ballon d'Or Rules

L’Equipe Announce Four Changes to Ballon d’Or Rules

Rather than honoring a single calendar year, the France Football journal announced Friday that it will instead honor players’ achievements throughout the length of a normal European season. French Football editor-in-chief Pascal Ferre announced four key changes in L’Equipe, including a decrease in the number of votes. A player’s resume will no longer be taken into account by voters while casting their ballots.

Since 1956, the French Football journal has awarded the honor to men, as well as to women starting 2018, however, in 2020, both awards were discontinued owing to the pandemic. The publication announced on Twitter that it will no longer publish from January to December. From August through July will be used to determine the winner of the (Ballon d’Or) award.’

In 2021, Lionel Messi was controversially awarded the FIFA Ballon d’Or. The prodigious Bayern Munich, as well as Poland forward Robert Lewandowski, lost out to PSG and Argentina superstar Neymar to win the trophy for the eighth time in a row. Alexia Putellas of Barcelona & Spain was named the third recipient of the 2021 women’s honor.

The 2021-22 year, which concludes with the women’s European Tournament in July, will now be covered by the Ballon d’Or trophy. In October, there will be another award presentation. There will be no consideration of the World Cup in Qatar, which will take place from November 21 to December 18, until the next season.

There will be a reduction in the number of male voters from 170 to 100, and 50 female voters. In addition, the magazine made it clear what was required to win the honor. Based on individual success before team success and lastly fair play.

What Is Ballon d’Or?

French Football presents the Ballon d’Or, a yearly honor for the best player in the world of football. From 1956, the honor has been given, however between 2010 and 2015, it was amalgamated with the FIFA World Footballer of the Year honor and renamed the FIFA Ballon d’Or.

As a result, the Ballon d’Or was returned to FIFA, and the prize for the greatest FIFA Men’s Player was discontinued in 2016. Both awarding organizations see the combined FIFA Ballon d’Or recipients as champions.

Lionel Messi has received the accolade 7 times, while Cristiano Ronaldo has earned it 5 times. Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff, and Marco van Basten are the only footballers to have received the honor three times apiece. Argentine, Dutch, German, and Portuguese footballers have received the most Ballons d’Or, each one with seven trophies to their name.

Until FIFA as well as France Football chose not to maintain the merger deal, the honor was given to the world’s finest male player from 2010 to 2015 when it was combined with a comparable accolade, the FIFA World Footballer of the Year honor. To carry on the Ballon d’Or legacy of particularly awarding a footballer from Europe, UEFA launched the UEFA Best Footballer in Europe Award following 2011.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular